This site uses cookes. By using this site you are consenting to their use according to our Cookie policy.

i agree
back
Cell Architecture

Connecting the nucleus to the cytoskeleton is relevant for multiple cellular processes and disruption of these connections result in multiple pathologies. Nuclear positioning within cell cytoplasm requires de connection between nucleus and the cytoskeleton.

We are interesting to understand the processes involved in these connections and the role for nuclear positioning in cell function.

We study cell migration and skeletal myofiber formation which required the connection between the nucleus and the cytoskeleton and precise nuclear positioning. We use different molecular and cellular approaches in combination with time-lapse imaging analysis to address these questions.

 

Research Team

Bruno Freitas
Lab Technician
bruno.freitas@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Catarina Sequeira
Lab Technician
catarina.sequeira@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Cátia Janota
PhD Student
cjanota@medicina.ulisboa.pt

David Barata
Postdoctoral Researcher
david.barata@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Francisco Calero
Postdoctoral Researcher
fcalero@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Graciano Leal
Postdoctoral Researcher
gleal@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Helena Pinheiro
PhD Student
hpinheiro@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Hélia Cristina Oliveira Neves
Senior Postdoctoral Researcher
hneves@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Inês Martins
Lab Technician
ines.martins@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Isabel Alcobia
Senior Postdoctoral Researcher
halcobia@medicina.ulisboa.pt

João Martins
PhD Student
jpmartins@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Judite Costa
Lab Manager
judite.costa@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Katharina Hennig
Postdoctoral Researcher
katharina.hennig@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Luis Oliveira
Lab Technician
luis.oliveira@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Raquel Pereira
Postdoctoral Researcher
pereira.arr@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Sara Ferreira
Lab Technician
sgferreira@medicina.ulisboa.pt

William Roman
Postdoctoral Researcher
william.roman@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Ana Soares
Postdoctoral Researcher
anarsoares@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Research Areas

  • Mechanisms of nuclear movement during cell migration and skeletal muscle formation
  • Role for nuclear positioning in skeletal muscle formation

Ongoing Research Projects

2019-2025 ERC Synergy

2018-2022 FETOPEN - MyoChip Project

2018-2021 FCT LISBOA-01-0145-FEDER-031075

2018-2020 AFM-Telethon

 

Previous Research Projects

2016-2018 ERC proof of concept Grant

2016-2019 Coordinator of H2020-TWINN-2015 Cancer Biology consortium

2014-2019 ERC Consolidator Grant

2014-2019 EMBO Installation Grant

2014-2019 Investigador FCT

2014-2019 EMBO Installation Grant

Selected Publications

group leader :
Edgar R. Gomes