This site uses cookes. By using this site you are consenting to their use according to our Cookie policy.

i agree
back
Cell Architecture

Connecting the nucleus to the cytoskeleton is relevant for multiple cellular processes and disruption of these connections result in multiple pathologies. Nuclear positioning within cell cytoplasm requires de connection between nucleus and the cytoskeleton.

We are interesting to understand the processes involved in these connections and the role for nuclear positioning in cell function.

We study cell migration and skeletal myofiber formation which required the connection between the nucleus and the cytoskeleton and precise nuclear positioning. We use different molecular and cellular approaches in combination with time-lapse imaging analysis to address these questions.

Research Team

Sara Ferreira
Lab Technician
sgferreira@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Edgar R. Gomes
Group Leader
edgargomes@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Judite Costa
Lab Manager
judite.costa@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Cátia Janota
PhD Student
cjanota@medicina.ulisboa.pt

William Roman
Post-Doctoral Researcher
william.roman@medicina.ulisboa.pt

João Martins
PhD Student
jpmartins@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Graciano Leal
Post-Doctoral Researcher
gleal@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Francisco Calero
Post-Doctoral Researcher
fcalero@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Helena Pinheiro
PhD Student
hpinheiro@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Ana Sofia Carvalho Marques
MSc Student
sofia.marques@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Luis Oliveira
Lab Technician
luis.oliveira@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Katharina Hennig
Post-Doctoral Researcher
katharina.hennig@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Inês Martins
Lab Technician
ines.martins@medicina.ulisboa.pt

David Barata
Post-Doctoral Researcher
david.barata@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Lilian Sluimer
MSc Student
lilian.sluimer@medicina.ulisboa.pt

Research Areas

  • Mechanisms of nuclear movement during cell migration and skeletal muscle formation
  • Role for nuclear positioning in skeletal muscle formation

Ongoing Research Projects

2019-2025: ERC Synergy

2018-2022: FETOPEN - MyoChip Project

2018-2021: FCT LISBOA-01-0145-FEDER-031075

2018-2020: AFM-Telethon

2014-2019: EMBO Installation Grant

 

Previous Research Projects

2016-2018: ERC proof of concept Grant

2016-2019: Coordinator of H2020-TWINN-2015 Cancer Biology consortium

2014-2019: ERC Consolidator Grant

2014-2019: EMBO Installation Grant

2014-2019: Investigador FCT

Selected Publications

group leader :
Edgar R. Gomes