INSTITUTO DE MEDICINA MOLECULAR JOÃO LOBO ANTUNES

Av. Professor Egas Moniz Ed. Egas Moniz 1649-028 Lisboa Phone: +351 217 999 411

Fax: +351 217 999 412

Jury Meeting Minute Reference of Fellowship IMM/BII/21-2024

Instituto de Medicina Molecular João Lobo Antunes (iMM) opens a call for one research fellowship under the project "Programa de Apoio a Bolsas de Investigação Científica" with the funding support from Janssen- Cilagg Farmacêutica, Lda.

The ad was published at EURAXESS Portugal Portal on 16th of May 2024 and also disseminated in iMM website. The call was opened from 17th of May 2024 until 31st of May 2024 and during which the following applicant applied:

- ✓ Brenda Raissa de Oliveira
- ✓ Ivo André Pereira Cruz
- ✓ Joana Silva Lopes
- ✓ Nicole de Campos Martins
- ✓ Oluwasegun Adedokun
- ✓ Syed Muhammad Haider Shah

The applicants Brenda Raissa de Oliveira and Joana Silva Lopes were excluded because they did not submit all documents required in the job ad.

On the 4th of June of 2024, the jury composed by Afonso Almeida (FMUL/iMM), Ana Espada de Sousa (FMUL/iMM) and Alexandre Raposo (iMM) met to analyze the application documents (motivation Letter, detailed CV, MSc degree certificate, contacts of 2 references and candidate's declaration of honor indicating previous fellowships, if any, its typology and duration).

Work Plan and Goals:

The work plan co-opts cell and tissue culture systems, in-vitro HIV infection approaches and use of the biosafety-level 3 (BSL-3) facility, flow cytometry, histology, molecular biology techniques and NGS approaches to uncover mechanisms underlying the establishment and maintenance of the human naïve CD4 T cells in individuals with HIV-1 infection, HIV-2 infection and seronegatives, that will translate into new strategies to preserve immune competence throughout ageing and to foster immune recovery in the face of thymus impairment or pro-inflammatory states found in many immune disorders and persistent infections.

The specific objectives are:

- 1. Reveal the contribute of the thymus to the heterogeneity of the naïve compartment;
- 2. Discover novel cues to modulate homeostatic proliferation conserving naivety;
- 3. Better understand the unique behaviour of naïve regulatory T cells;
- 4. Decipher the impact of a pro-inflammatory microenvironment in naïve CD4 T cells.

Candidate's Profile:

- MSc degree holder in the field of Biomedicine;
- Experience in immunologic studies;
- Previous work involving isolation and culture of human cells;
- Experience in Flow cytometry;

- Knowledge in Molecular Biology.

Necessary Documents for Applications: - Motivation Letter; - Detailed CV; - MSc degree certificate; - Contacts of 2 references. Candidate's declaration of honor indicating previous fellowships, if any, its typology and duration. The non-compliance with these requirements determines the immediate rejection of the application.

In case the applicant does not have yet the required degree certificate, a declaration of honor stating the conclusion of the necessary qualifications for the purposes of this process will be accepted and must be sent by the end date of the call.

Selection Methods: Curricular Evaluation (100%).

Curricular Evaluation (100%)

The Curriculum Analysis took in consideration the following criteria:

- Experience in immunologic studies (40%);
- Previous work involving isolation and culture of human cells (20%);
- Experience in Flow cytometry (30%);
- Knowledge in Molecular Biology (10%).

The analysis and discrimination of the admitted candidate's classification in the sole phase of this process are presented in Annex I.

At this stage, the selected candidate is the one with the highest score.

Lisbon, 4th of June 2024

Ann Huntz

Afonso Almeida (FMUL/iMM)

Aux Ins

Ana Espada de Sousa (FMUL/iMM)

Alexandre Raposo (iMM)

Murket

Final Jury Meeting Minute

IMM/BII/21-2024

After the preliminary hearing period of 10 working days, no changes were verified in what concerns to classification and ranking of the admitted candidates.

The jury will contact the candidate ranked in 1st, Nicole de Campos Martins, and will offer her the position.

This final decision is signed by the three members of the jury and also validated by the Heads of the Institution.

The final list of classification and ranking of the admitted candidate is attached to current minute.

Lisbon, 24th June 2024

Ana Espada de Sousa (FMUL/iMM)

Afonso Almeida (FMUL/iMM)

Ann Aprite

Alexandre Raposo (iMM)

Validation by the Heads of the Institution

Professor Bruno Silva-Santos Vice President

Executive Director

ANNEX I-Final list of classification and ranking of the admitted candidates

Ranking	Name	Final Score
1	Nicole de Campos Martins	80
2	Ivo André Pereira Cruz	57
3	Oluwasegun Adedokun	10
4	Syed Muhammad Haider Shah	5